Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Ninth District Federation of The Minnesota State Federation of Women’s Club
Call Number MS 185
Extent 2 boxes
Dates of Creation 1900-1950
Creator Fountain, P.F., Mrs.
Scope & Content This collection contains a 50 year history of the Ninth District Federation of Women’s Clubs, a series of annual meeting and convention log books ranging in date from 1900-1950 and a course catalog compiled by Mrs. J. Arthur Johnson.
Admin/Biographical History The Ninth District Federation was a branch of the Minnesota State Federation of Women’s Clubs. This collection covers the first 50 years of the District from 1900-1950. The Ninth District included the following clubs:
The Twentieth Century Club of Ada (1901)
Alvarado Women’s Club (1926)
Argyle Women’s Reading Club (1903)
Argyle Women’s Study Club (1924)
The Tuesday Study Club of Bagley (1926)
The Ladies Literacy League of Barnesville (1897)
Barnesville Leorian League (1946)
Women’s Progressive Club of Battle Lake (1929)
Breckenridge Women’s Study Club (1905)
Agassiz Study Club- Junior Club- Crookston (1947)
Current Events Club of Crookston (1899)
Fairfax- Andover Social Club-Crookston (1911)
Ken Study Club- Junior Club- Crookston (unknown)
Matron’s Club – Crookston (1901)
Pollathene Study Club of Crookston- Junior Club (1948)
Women’s Club Crookston (1898)
Deer Creek Study Club (1934)
L’Etudier Club (East Grand Forks Junior Club)(1937)
Hermana Club- Junior Club- East Grand Forks (1945)
Women’s Club of Erskine (1933)
The Reading Club of Fergus Falls (1903)
The Athenian Club of Fosston (1925)
Felton Women’s Club (1950)
The Frazee Study Club (1941)
Glyndon Women’s Study Club (unknown)
Halstad Junior Women’s Club (1946)
Halstad Women’s Club (1935)
Women’s Study Club of Hawley (1921)
Henning Women’s Reading Club (1929)
The Women’s Club of Karlstad (1943)
The North Star Club of McIntosh (1940)
Women’s Club of Middle River (1912)
Moorhead Women’s Club (1893)
New York Mills Junior Women’s Club (1939)
News York Mills Women’s Club (1930)
Ottertail County Federation of Women’s Clubs (1924)
Welfare Club-Dalton
Girls Community Club- Fergus Falls
Reading Club- Fergus Falls
Community Club- Pelican Rapids
Women’s Club- Perham
Sherman Club- Fergus Falls
Women’s Club- Fergus Falls
Study Club – Parkers Prairie
Otter Tail Women’s Study Club (1932)
Parkers Prairie Study Club (1907)
Pelican Rapids Community Club (1920)
Pelican Rapids Junior Women’s Civic Organization (1948)
Agassiz Study Club, Rothsay (1940)
St. Hilaire Women’s Club (1934)
Monday Study Club- Stephen (1946)
Women’s Study Club of Stephen (1915)
Women’s Study club of Thief River Falls (1914)
Zehlians- Art Group
Potpurri Club of Thief River Falls (1947)
Modern Study Club Twin Valley (1943)
The Underwood Women’s Club (1935)
Warren Women’s Club (1907)
These clubs met at a district convention every year except the 45th annual convention in 1945 due to wartime travel restrictions. Conventions consisted of lectures, concerts and a discussion of club finances. Each convention had a theme, often dealing with the social issues of the time.
Subjects Charity
Women's education
Clay County ( Minn.)
Access Conditions There are no access restrictions on the materials, and the collection is open to all members of the public in accordance with state law.
Copyrights The researcher assumes full responsibility for conforming to the laws of libel, privacy, and copyright of the state of Minnesota which may be involved in the use of this collection.
Language of Material English
Archival History Fountain,P.F, Mrs.
Containers Couse Catalog: Complied by Mrs. J. Arthur Johnson, Thief River Falls, MN
50th Anniversary History of The Ninth District of MN Federation of Women’s Clubs (1950)
Annual Convention Log Book 1900-1918
Annual Convention Log Book 1919-1927
Annual Convention Log Book 1928-1950